Pepper Spray State Laws

In the Unites States, pepper spray is legal to carry. However, states can vary their restrictions regarding size of the canister, the concentration of the spray, and minimum age requirements. 


Alaska State Laws: Must be 18 years of age to purchase, and 21 to carry it on school property

Arkansas State Laws: Canister can only have 5.07 ounces in it. 

California State Laws: Caister can only have 2.5 ounces in it. 

Delaware State Laws: Must be 18 years of age. 

Florida State Laws: Canister cannot be more than 2 ounces. 

Illinois State Laws: Must be 18 years of age.

Maryland State Laws: Must be 18 years of age. 

Massachusetts State Laws: Ages 15-18 need to have a firearms ID card, which then allows the purchase of pepper spray. Can  only be bought at a firearms dealer. 

Michigan State Laws: Canister cannot have more than 35g of CS (Orthochlorobenzalmalononitrile) and no more than 10% of oleoresin capsicum as an ingredient. 

Nevada State Laws: Must be 18 years of age. Canisters cannot have more than 2 ounces of CS tear gas. 

New Jersey State Laws: Must be 18 years of age. Canister cannot be more than 0.75 ounces. 

New York State Laws: Can only be purchased at a firearms dealer or pharmacy, it is illegal to ship pepper spray. Can only purchase 2 sprays. 

North Caroline State Laws:  Canister cannot be more than 5.07 ounces. 

Rhode Island State Laws: Must be 18 years of age

South Caroline State Laws: Must be 18 years of age

Wisconsin State Laws: Must be 18 years of age. Pepper spray cannot be camouflaged and cannot contain tear gas.